The purpose of this website is to promote the CLM as well as a collaborative learning environment where all professionals are lifted in their literacy instruction.

Contact Info

School District of Fort Atkinson

201 Park St.

Fort Atkinson, WI 53589

(920) 563-7800


A Visit from Western Dubuque Community School District: Spotlighting CLM!

On Tuesday, April 15th, Rockwell Elementary hosted the Western Dubuque Community School District so their staff could see how the Comprehensive Literacy Model functions in our district.  They were especially interested in observing the instructional components of Writer's Workshop, so we had some wonderful classroom observations in grades K-4 to see interactive writing, writing mini-lessons, writing conferences, and share time in action.  They also had the opportunity to see guided reading and literacy integration with social studies content.  Special thanks to Linda Rice, Shawn McDonough, Ambyr Lemke, Jessica Hansen, Nicole Schafer, Lori Held, Meg Tindal, Megan Eske, and Julie Keating for spotlighting the great teaching and learning that happens in their classrooms every day!  Vicki Wright, principal, is very proud of her students and staff and celebrates the amazing learning experiences that occur at Rockwell Elementary daily!


A Second Visit from Belleville Schools: Spotlighting CLM!

On Wednesday, March 14th, Purdy Elementary hosted the Belleville School District for another site visit so more of their staff could see the Comprehensive Literacy Model in action.  We had another great morning of classroom observations to see the Reader's Workshop components of word study/phonics, shared reading, mini-lessons, guided reading, and literature discussion groups as well as writer's workshop mini-lessons and conferencing take place in our K-5 classrooms.  Special thanks to Becky Johnson, Andrea Kratz, Barb Nyland, Lisa Perkins, Pam Gustin, Missy Peters, Heidi Wegner, Ashley Stevens, Lucas Springstroh, Jamie Hahn, and Josh Twedt for spotlighting the great teaching and learning that happens in their classrooms every day! Dr. Rick Brietzke, principal of Purdy Elementary, is very proud of his students and staff!   


Another Day of Spotlighting CLM!

On Monday, March 10th, 2014 the Belleville School District visited Fort Atkinson to see our CLM model in action.  We had a great day focused on observing a variety of instructional frameworks in grades K-5 to see how explicit teaching accelerates student learning in reading and writing.  We were able to reflect upon many teaching and learning interactions that also included the integration of technology as students read electronic texts on iPads and drafted writing on Google Chrome Books!  It was another great day of learning in the books for our students and for the Belleville staff!  


WSRA Convention Honor

On February 6th, the School DIstrict of Fort Atkinson was honored at the WSRA Convention (Wisconsin State Reading Association) for being the Wisconsin receipient of the IRA Exemplary Reading Program Award in 2013.  Mr. Dave Geiger, Luther Elementary Principal, and Mr. Brent Torrenga, Barrie Elementary Principal, attended the convention and participated in the recognition on behalf of our Comprehensive Literacy Model program.  


Wisconsin Association of School Boards Conference Presentation

On Thursday, January 23rd the School District of Fort Atkinson presented at the Wisconsin Association of School Boards Conference to share information on our journey with the Comprehensive Literacy Model.  It was a wonderful opportunity for us to spotlight the transformation we have seen in all four of our elementary schools because of the systemic implementation of CLM. If you want to learn more about CLM, please view the attached PowerPoint.  Amy Oakley - Director of Instruction, Dr. Rick Brietzke - Principal, Purdy Elementary, Brent Torrenga - Principal, Barrie Elementary, Rachel Ehlen - Grades K-2 Literacy Coach, and Candice Johnson - Grades 3-5 Literacy Coach presented at the conference. Dr. Jeff Zaspel, Superintendent of Schools and Fort School Board members Bob Chady, Rodger Thomann, and Scott Johnson attended the presentation as well.  

WASB Conference Presentation PPT